[SURBL-Discuss] RE: SPAM: Phishing attempt?

Chris Santerre csanterre at merchantsoverseas.com
Mon Jul 26 10:05:43 CEST 2004

>-----Original Message-----
>From: kriston at MOUSE-WORKS.COM [mailto:kriston at MOUSE-WORKS.COM]
>Sent: Monday, July 26, 2004 3:29 AM
>Subject: Re: SPAM: Phishing attempt?
>On 26 Jul 2004 at 1:07, David Smith <dbsmith at ATBBS.DYNDNS.ORG> wrote:
>> 01o.com belongs to Britemoon, Inc.  A quick websearch brings up 
>> mentions of Britemoon as a spammer, which is why I'm wondering 
>> if Qwest might not have hired them for this.  Is it common for a 
>> known spammer to go into the phishing business?
>According to here, http://www.britemoon.com/about/index3.html, 
>Qwest is 
>one of their clients.  Britemoon probably does their email 
>marketing.  I 
>came across the same thing with Consumer Reports when I confirmed that 
>they were using a DoubleClick subsidiary to do their "email 
>aka spamming.

NANAS has lots of hits for this guy. Joe Lucas. He send UBE/UCE on behalf of
large businesses like Days Inn, Fedex, Qwest, ect.......

But it is spam, as they buy lists to send to and there is no opt-in. Not
even close to double opt-in :)


More information about the Discuss mailing list