[SURBL-Discuss] Hatcheck: this one is a toughy for me....

Jeff Chan jeffc at surbl.org
Thu May 20 14:24:35 CEST 2004

On Thursday, May 20, 2004, 12:38:33 PM, Chris Santerre wrote:
> = www.Default-Homepage-Network.com

> thoughts on this?

They seem like a legitimate, if annoying, company.

That said, I have not seen a spam with their URI

Jeff C.

> Welcome to www.Default-Homepage-Network.com
> This network was designed to help consumers benefit from the
> use of valuable software without paying any fees.
> People who have installed programs like Kazaa and other
> adware-supported software have received
> default-homepage-network.com sponsored banners (which are
> distributed via software-application advertising agencies in
> accordance with the terms of service agreed upon when software
> was installed or updated.)  These ads, rather than a credit
> card, pay for the software, keeping it free.
> Unfortunately some adware programs bundle with extremely
> aggressive, often malicious, applications.  However
> default-homepage-network.com is NOT responsible for these
> activities -  though some people mistakingly assuming
> default-homepage-network.com is somehow connected to such 
> activities.
> We strongly recommend that people install an adware/spyware
> removal program to delete these applications if found
> bothersome or damaging in any way. 
> Rest assure that default-homepage-network.com does NOT nor will
> it EVER download ANY FORM of software on your computer without
> your EXPLICIT permission.  The ONLY setting that
> default-homepage-network.com configures is default homepage
> (which it does NOT lock up) and it does so in accordance with
> the full disclosure of the terms of service displayed below.
> Default-homepage-network.com also uses banners

More information about the Discuss mailing list