[SURBL-Discuss] whitelist: cooleremail.com and icebase.net?

Jeff Chan jeffc at surbl.org
Fri Sep 3 19:39:02 CEST 2004

On Friday, September 3, 2004, 6:29:52 PM, David Hooton wrote:
> On Fri, 3 Sep 2004 18:19:26 -0700, Jeff Chan <jeffc at surbl.org> wrote:
>> We need more than trap hits before adding someone.  There are a
>> lot of FPs that appear on traps due to forwards, abusers, etc.
>> I sincerely hope you guys are hand reviewing your trap data.

> Indeed, no domain gets onto our lists without being hand reviewed,
> we've deliberately not automated these processes for the reasons you
> outline.

> It's generally quite rare that something hits our traps which is not
> followed by at least one or two customer complaints which for us will
> generally result in a listing.

>> I'd argue strongly that human checking of the domains and
>> circumstances of sending is required to prevent FPs.

> I would also agree.


>> Also if you forward your trap message it's quite possible
>> the abuser will be punished:
>>  http://www.cooleremail.com/aboutus_spam.shtml

> I have read this, and understand that they know they have to publish
> this information as a matter of PR

Indeed.  It's also possible for spammers to put out such pages
as camoflauge.

This company claims to be a member of Bonded Sender, which
perhaps helps somewhat if true.

Jeff C.

More information about the Discuss mailing list