[SURBL-Discuss] more FPs

Ryan Thompson ryan at sasknow.com
Thu Sep 9 22:50:15 CEST 2004

John Lundin wrote to SURBL Discussion list:

> Finally got around to running geturi 0.5 on some recent submitted FPs
> and ham.


> I have permission to forward the original messages if needed.
> codefeed .com		-0.2000 (1)

Yes, personal site. Just guessing, but probably listed due to
joe-jobbing someone's email address @codefeed .com.

> gittigidiyor .com 	-0.2500 (1)
> The first, from a java newsletter blog ref, has no NANAS hits. Created
> Feb '03. I can't read the language on the second, from a quoted sig in
> a MySQL newsletter, but it has one NANAS hit and was created in Feb '00.
> Probably not controversial.

It's Turkish, and I'd agree they do look legit. It *looks* like an
auction site or something... so it could have been seen in spams similar
to eBay auction spams that go around. (Come check out my auction! :-)

> destinationsite .com	-3.0000 (1)
> ntcr .us 		-0.3333 (1)
> These two are. Both are from a Jupitermedia Web Events newsletter.
> And yes, the guy who submitted it signed up for 'em. I already asked.
> Both with netcreations RPs. First registered Jan '98, second Nov '03,
> so they aren't fly-by-night. (Crawl by night?) destinationsite has
> seventy-eight widely varied NANAS hits, and their web page redirects
> to postmasterdirect .com, describing them as, "The most trusted source
> of 100% opt-in email customer acquisition solutions." ntcr .us has
> forty-three less varied NANAS hits, site unviewable with my browser.
> (I sent the latter in once before for a DS hit, but it's in WS now.)

Sounds reasonable.

> And from personal email is a possibly worse pair... from a local
> linux UG newsletter that quotes a marketpro computer show flyer:
> emailfactory .com and emf0 .com (apparently same folks), being used as
> a web bug and unsub address, respectively. 183 and 22 NANAS, created
> oct '98 and feb '03.  "Precision opt-in email marketing tools."
> Unfortunately, I know at least one other person who is (or was)
> subscribed to the mailing list for this show, which comes through here
> regularly.  You choose if you want to hold your nose and remove 'em.

Looks like they should indeed be removed from WS, but they might be good
UC candidates if they do still send almost all spam.

> And that's it out of 4991 messages checked, after removal of FFP's.

Good stuff!

- Ryan

   Ryan Thompson <ryan at sasknow.com>

   SaskNow Technologies - http://www.sasknow.com
   901-1st Avenue North - Saskatoon, SK - S7K 1Y4

         Tel: 306-664-3600   Fax: 306-244-7037   Saskatoon
   Toll-Free: 877-727-5669     (877-SASKNOW)     North America

More information about the Discuss mailing list