[SPAM-TAG] [SURBL-Discuss] Spammer threatening to suesingle4y ou.net

Frank Ellermann nobody at xyzzy.claranet.de
Tue Sep 28 14:35:15 CEST 2004

Jeff Chan wrote:
> Doubleclick domains show up in a lot of hams.

Have you seen these domains in URLs mentioned in e-mail ?

0mm.com   123 / 94 in *.net-abuse.* (incl. / excl. nanas),
          last 2002. rather old, but not a "white hat".
2clk.net   93 / 25, last Aug 14 2004, zero sightings after
          removing the dubious launch.2clk.net addresses

businesslink.net  sightings in some very old spam (1999).

I'm not very interested in ancient spam history, but after
this short reality check this isn't a clean list of known
white hats.

You just don't have the time and Gigabytes to white list
all ex-spamvertized domains without new sighting for more
than two years.  The purpose of your white list is IMNSHO
to catch erroneous SURBL listings.  It's not a collection
of reformed spammers or old domains.  At least for c/n/o
the whois data allows to determine the age of domains.

And if they spammed before 2003, who knows what they are
planning for 2005 ?
                    Bye, Frank

More information about the Discuss mailing list