[SURBL-Discuss] More spams with Zdnet redirector

Nick Askew Nick at askew.nl
Thu Apr 7 08:58:31 CEST 2005


So it seems that there is an obvious loophole in SURBL. As long as the 
spammer uses a legitimate business running a redirector you will never black 
list them (perhaps the spammer could even set up their own legitimate 
redirector). This open redirector discussion for ZDNET has been open for 
several weeks now, they have had more than ample warning. 

Protect your domain from use by spammers. Set up an SPF record, read more 
about it here http://spf.pobox.com/.

-----Original Message-----
From: Jeff Chan <jeffc at surbl.org>
To: SURBL Discussion list <discuss at lists.surbl.org>
Date: Wed, 6 Apr 2005 17:49:51 -0700
Subject: Re: [SURBL-Discuss] More spams with Zdnet redirector

> On Wednesday, April 6, 2005, 11:54:56 AM, Patrik Nilsson wrote:
> > At 01:26 2005-04-06 -0700, Jeff Chan wrote:
> >>Raymond, Paul and others, please LART them.
> >>
> >>We're not going to blacklist zdnet.
> > It's not zdnet, it's chkpt.zdnet.com.
> > Does chkpt.zdnet.com show up in ham?
> >
> http://groups-beta.google.com/groups?q=%22chkpt.zdnet.com%22&start=10&s
> coring=d
> > Are we still 100% opposed to trying to find a way to include
> sub-domains in 
> > surbls?
> > Patrik 
> It's possible to list subdomains, but this one chkpt.zdnet.com
> would still probably not be appropriate since it probably has
> legitimate uses.  Also subdomains may not be checked by SURBL
> applications.
> Jeff C.
> --
> "If it appears in hams, then don't list it."
> _______________________________________________
> Discuss mailing list
> Discuss at lists.surbl.org
> http://lists.surbl.org/mailman/listinfo/discuss

More information about the Discuss mailing list