[SURBL-Discuss] Forge SURBL mail from gfi.com, just minutes ago.

Jeff Chan jeffc at surbl.org
Fri Apr 8 08:02:25 CEST 2005

On Thursday, April 7, 2005, 10:45:46 PM, List User wrote:
> Note the company claims to be
> "GFI Software Ltd" and sell anti-spam, anit-virus and email products.
> Did anyone actually receive the email?  Was it just directed at me?
> Another batch of attempts just occurred:

> Apr  7 22:22:26 mailhub postfix/qmgr[14119]: D6A9C6A44: removed
> Apr  7 22:22:31 mailhub postfix/smtpd[24110]: connect from mailgate.gfi.com[]
> Apr  7 22:22:32 mailhub postfix/smtpd[24110]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from mailgate.gfi.com[]: 450 <passthrough>: Helo command rejected: Host not found;
> from=<discuss-bounces at lists.surbl.org> to=<track at plectere.com> proto=ESMTP helo=<passthrough>

And why would a legitimate company send mail using a fake from
address?  I guess I'm extra annoyed because they're using one
that belongs to us.

In my spare time, maybe' I'll write the fsckers:

   GFI Software Ltd UK
   Unit 2, St Johns Mews
   St Johns Road
   Hampton Wick
   Kingston upon Thames
   Surrey KT1 4AN
   Tel  +44 0870 770 5370
   Fax +44 0870 770 5377
   Email  sales at gfi.co.uk
   Support  support at gfi.com
   USA, Canada and Puerto Rico

   GFI Software USA, Inc.
   15300 Weston Parkway Suite 104
   Cary, NC 27513
   Tel  +1 (888) 2 GFIFAX
   +1 (888) 243-4329
   +1 (919) 379-3397
   Fax +1 (919) 379-3402
   Support +1 (919) 297-1350
   Reseller support +1 (919) 297-1340
   Email  sales at gfiusa.com
   Support  support at gfiusa.com
   Govt sales govsales at gfiusa.com

Jeff C.
"If it appears in hams, then don't list it."

More information about the Discuss mailing list