[SURBL-Discuss] Notification of Blacklist Status

SURBL Role surbl.role at gmail.com
Fri Jul 3 15:38:26 CEST 2009

On 7/3/09, Petros Kolyvas <pk at shiftfocus.ca> wrote:
>  > To be clear, the owner of the phished brand usually makes very
>  > thorough efforts to contact the site owner or web host to let them
>  > know about it and to ask them to correct the problem.
> If you've been reading the discussion, you'll know that's not the case
>  in this case - and further points that our site was never used for any
>  phishing.

That's not correct.   The site reportedly appeared in phishing messages.

>  >> Our host even claimed that: The domain is not directly hosting the
>  >> phishing attack. Due to the fact that the server is running UserDir
>  >> functionality, other user accounts can be accessed through the /
>  >> ~username path. My ISP has confirmed that the UserDir functionality
>  >> will be removed from all server within 48 hours.

Translation: your site was used for phishing, with a name like

Your host is trying to tell you exactly that.

More information about the Discuss mailing list